hearing impairment..

Discussion in 'Support' started by dumgoyne, May 30, 2013.

1. dumgoyne

dumgoyne Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/03/13
      hi

just joined, i have been using 2 medications for around 3/4 months now. one is a proton pump inhibitor called lansoprazole and the other, an ace inhibitor called valsartan.. i am getting some decided hearing impairment on my good ear, along with tenderness in both i would say.. is this because of these drugs and should i stop them immediately, very uncomfortable..

thanks

david

2. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      Hi, David, and welcome!

It is possible that the drugs (one or both) could be causing your hearing problems and ear tenderness. Do you have tinnitus now, as well? I can certainly relate to your situation, because it was an ace inhibitor that caused my tinnitus to become severe.

I had mild tinnitus and some hearing loss in my right ear for many years, but it was not bothersome. Then, when I began taking an ace inhibitor (Lisinopril) , all that changed. My ringing became very loud, and about 2 weeks later, I started to have pulsating tinnitus (heartbeat sound in ear), as well.

However, you must be on those drugs for a very good reason, and I would NEVER tell you to get off the drugs!! I made that mistake, and got off the ace inhibitor too abruptly; it gave me bad side effects for many months afterward. Blood pressure drugs are powerful, and it can be dangerous to get off them too quickly. Your good health may be at stake, so don't do anything until you talk to your doctor first!