Hello — My Backstory — Can Tinnitus Still Improve 3 Weeks After Onset?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Lake, Jun 10, 2019.

1. Lake

Lake Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi Everyone,

I am new to tinnitus and looking for advice.

Here is my back story:

1) I had dental work around six weeks ago-two crowns and a root canal.
      2) I was in pain and extremely stressed—grinding my teeth has always been a problem but was probably made worse at this point. During this time I took Advil for the inflammation, but never more than recommended. I went to my dentist and he thinks I have TMJ, which is quite possible with all the grinding.
      3) I was at work about 2 weeks after the root canal and noticed my ears were ringing. I went to the walk-in clinic and they said it might be allergies (nope—I knew that).
      4) I went to my GP on Wednesday, two days after the ringing started, and she put me on a steroid pack. That made the tooth pain go away, but the ringing was still there.
      5) I have done the same things as everyone else—ENT, audiologist, etc.—you know how that goes.
      6) My ringing is mostly in my right ear, sometimes I can hear it in my left ear, and a static tone in my middle head. I would say it’s mild, yet annoying, at best.
      7) I have had some slight sensitivity to sounds—definitely more electrical like the laptop or fridge.
      8) My ears are a bit full, but that seems to be getting a little better.

So, my main question is do I have any hope at this point or is 3 weeks too long for a recovery?

Thanks!

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma