Hi All

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Joel, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Joel

Joel Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/1/13
      Thanks for organizing this forum! (whoever you are ;-)

I've only had tinnitus for about 2 months now, but it's been quite a ride so far. Mine is a high pitch ringing mostly. (around 8400 hz)

I'm not 100% sure how it all started, but my best guess is that it started because of nicotine overdoses. I've always been more on the healthy side of living: eating well, lot's of exercise martial arts, and cultivating a happy mind. That said, I am a musician and in my youth dabbled with cigarettes. I haven't been a full time smoker for a very long time, but when my wife and I went on vacation we would enjoy them on our trips.

Well I ended up taking a little longer to stop after one of our trips and decided to ween off by using an electronic cigarette. They are definitely a safer way to smoke (you are not really smoking as there is no combustion) but the problem is that it becomes very difficult to gauge exactly how much nicotine you've absorbed.

So during that time I overdosed many times. Sever headache , sever tinnitus. After a couple of the weeks the tinnitus never went away

I've since quit all forms of nicotine, cut down on coffee (although i am drinking a lot of green tea) and hopefully cutting down on other bad foods (sugar/salt)

MRI and ENT could not find anything so I've basically been on my own trying to find help.

Most of the time I am ok, but I must admit that i am starting to feel pangs of depression ... isolation ... hopelessness ..etc.

Not being able to make music is just not something i can't even imagine, but at the moment I need to really limit the amount of sound i am exposed to.

Right now I am taking ARCHES Tinnitus formula and hoping that it helps a little.

Talking to other tinnitus suffers has been a huge help though. It's just awesome to talk to someone that knows how crazy these symptoms can be.