How Does Sound Spread — What Effect Does Distance Have on Decibel (dB) Levels?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Stanlex, May 25, 2021.

1. Stanlex
      Wtf

Stanlex Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2019 - mild, 03/2021 - the real shit
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Something that cannot be identified by 21st century tech
      Hi. I'm not a physics expert; I had only very basic acoustic physics high school.

You can find brochures everywhere on the internet that show what decibel (dB) level is harmful to a human ear, or more precisely, how long can a human ear withstand a particular dB level before it can be damaged from noise exposure.

However, there is no explanation how far can a person safely be from some source emitting a noise at particular volume. I don't know if you understand what I mean.

Imagine a device emitting a sound at X dB. A person would be standing Y meters away from the device. How many dB would the noise be the person hears? Is it possible to calculate that with some equation? I know that dB is a logarithmic unit so it isn't trivial.

Also, it looks like high frequencies can't penetrate through environment as much as low frequencies because if someone is far away from a disco, they hear only bass. So I suppose the pitch of the sound is another factor in the equation.

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. mohn

mohn Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      For every 2x of distance, the sound level reduces by 6 dB (e.g. moving from 10 to 20 metres away from a sound source). But the next 6 dB reduction means moving from 20 to 40 metres, then from 40 to 80 metres for a further 6 dB reduction.

How Sound Reduces With Distance From a Point Source

• Like Like x 1
    3. MidnightOilAudio
      Ape-like

MidnightOilAudio Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2015
      There is a whole science behind this (acoustics), but I'll try and give a few brief answers here...