I Think My Tinnitus Has Gone Away

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Jamesd, Nov 4, 2018.

1. Jamesd

Jamesd Member

Tinnitus Since:
      April 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello All,

First off, I have to say - what a year. Never did I think at the start of this year, that something could seriously mess with my life as tinnitus did. I have always been calm, never anxious, never depressed. Boy did that change in April of this year.

It all started one morning out of the blue. No reason as far as I'm aware - I was just awake and it was there. I thought it was the hum of the house electrics, or something downstairs that someone had left on. No. It was in my left ear. I knew what it might be - I'm a lawyer and see people issuing claims frequently for tinnitus, noise induced hearing loss. It was the condition I had dreaded getting most of all. I have always enjoyed silent time and solitude. As Dr Nagler puts it, I had the unwelcome guest from hell. In my head. It seemed to be a life sentence without the possibility of parole, tortute - I would have gladly done jail time, if there was a guarantee I would be free of it.

So I tried to rationalise it at first, thinking this is permanent, how can I live like this. What caused it? What did I do to deserve to have it? I know that my ears are still a little sensitive, and the first couple of weeks I experienced hyperacusis. I was sitting in a room in the office and even the voices of the speakers in a meeting felt uncomfortable. That isn't an issue now - and my fear of loud noise I know is psychosomatic.

I can only attribute it to years of headphone / earphone usage. I do a fair bit of online gaming, going to the gym and listening to music. I guess at some point, my ears were saying "no more". I quit headphone usage at home and at work, and only listen now to speakers or a conference phone at work - anything so I don't have to put anything near my ears that transmits a direct noise in there.