Idea About Lowering Certain Types of Tinnitus: Taking Riluzole. Ignorant, Stupid, or Worth a Try?

Discussion in 'Support' started by JasonP, Sep 12, 2016.

tinnitus forum
    1. JasonP

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      WARNING: I AM NO SCIENTIST OR DOCTOR. PLEASE DO NOT CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING TO BE ALL TRUE. I AM IGNORANT IN MANY WAYS ON HOW THE BRAIN WORKS. I AM JUST PUTTING THIS OUT THERE AND HOPEFULLY WILL GET SOME FEEDBACK. IT COULD BE WAY OFF BASE. NEVER TAKE MEDICINE WITHOUT A DOCTOR'S PERMISSION.

As has been mentioned before, some people say that a "glutamate storm" (excitotoxicity)
      that can come from benzo withdrawal can cause tinnitus. According to Wikipedia:

Excitotoxicity may be involved in spinal cord injury, stroke, traumatic brain injury, hearing loss (through noise overexposure or ototoxicity), and in neurodegenerative diseases of the central nervous system (CNS) such as multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Parkinson's disease, alcoholism or alcohol withdrawal and especially over-rapid benzodiazepine withdrawal, and also Huntington's disease.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Excitotoxicity

Interestingly enough it says hearing loss through noise overexposure or otoxicity can cause excitotoxicity as well. According to Wikipedia:

Excitotoxicity is the pathological process by which nerve cells are damaged or killed by excessive stimulation by neurotransmitters such as glutamate and similar substances. This occurs when receptors for the excitatory neurotransmitter glutamate (glutamate receptors) such as the NMDA receptor and AMPA receptor are overactivated by glutamatergic storm.

So after doing a little research I found a video of a man explaining how glutamate works:

Astrocytic glutamate uptake