Is This Hyperacusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Shellfront, May 23, 2018.

1. Shellfront

Shellfront Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      Hey guys!

This might be a long one, so please bare with me! Hopefully someone can shed a light on my situation and perhaps someone has experienced similar things. Really appreciate any thoughts and advice.

I’m a music producer, but started out as a drummer when I was 11, which means a lot of loud sound exposure through the years. I didn’t really protect my ears very often, before I got tinnitus, from what I can remember. I’m now 30.

I got tinnitus after mixing a track, 6 years ago. Every now and then the session would overload my computer, and the music would go up way loud for a second before it stopped. This happened repeatedly and I didn’t care much at the time. The next day I had tinnitus, but it didn’t stop me from going to work. The tinnitus is not much of an issue to me, and has never been.

I kept working, young and carefree as I were, and a couple days later, in the middle of working on a production, I felt really dizzy and like I was in a dream-state “outside of my own body” and had to lay down on the floor. This sensation came back the next day in shorter periods and came back fully nighttime. Then it resolved and everything was alright for a couple years. I do remember having to cover my ears from screeching trains at some point during these years but that also went away.

During the next 4-5 years I had heaps of sessions with people, worked really late nights, and didn’t have any problems.

Then half a year ago, I started noticing I got really tired in sessions. Like exhausted after a few hours of sound exposure.

I also noticed I would sometimes feel really “out of my body” and “in a dream-like state” while walking from my apartment in the mornings, or moving in general I guess.