Is Winding Up/Reactive Tinnitus Hypercusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by martin12, Jun 24, 2014.

1. martin12

martin12 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3/13/2014
      My tinnitus exacerbates/amplifies with external sound. The tinnitus greatly increases due to external sound.

Is this a form of hypercusis or simply just "reactive" tinnitus?

Any one else share this condition?

2. citigirl13
      Happy

citigirl13 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      17/1/14
      I am not an expert but I believe that this is reactive tinnitus, not H. H is where sounds cause you pain.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      martin12

martin12 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3/13/2014
      just very difficult to mask...if anyone has ideas/suggestions plmk. thank you so much.

4. Grace
      No Mood

Grace Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/14/2013
      Reactiveeee

5. ampumpkin
      Amused

ampumpkin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Onset: 12/2007 Increase: 04/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      2007: Meds(Antidepressant) 2014: Meds(Antibiotics)
      I am very interested in the replies because I have the same thing. Reactive T cannot be masked at all in my case. Only happens in traffic/downtown/when I pick up the kids at school & daycare and other kids are screaming, etc...

6. peter1974
      Balanced

peter1974 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      I have had reactive tinnitus for almost 7 months. ACRN sometimes helps to calm it down and I did try supplements for 5 months with no real change. Although generally its got a bit better with time.

-Mornings can be totally silent until around mid day.
      -Gets worse through the day because of noise around me.
      -Have a odd echo when I rub the right side of my head/ear
      -Calms down when I goto sleep. Due to silence.
      -Alcohol/caffeine no affect