New Here but Not to Tinnitus & Hyperacusis — Did a Ketamine Trial

Discussion in 'Support' started by Zimichael, Dec 24, 2013.

1. Zimichael

Zimichael Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      (1956) > 1980 > 2006 > 2012 > (2015)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ac. Trauma & Ac.Trauma + Meds.
      Hi...I'm new to this chat board, but unfortunately not new to tinnitus and hyperacusis.

I've had tinnitus (E flat ringing) for most of my life but it was vastly exacerbated by antibiotics and morphed into hyperacusis as well, in 2006 when I was treated with Neomycin and then Amphotericin. Talk about a double whammy of ototoxic drugs!!! Unfortunately I was so out of it at the time, (with a deep seated mystery illness no-one could figure out), that I just took the stuff.
      Ever since it has limited my life severely, though have tried a lot of things for it of course, and read widely, etc., etc. Had also had pretty severe tinnitus from more noise exposure in the mid 90's so have been abreast of the field - and lack of success, for decades.

Anyway, my doc periodically suggests things (as in a way he was responsible for the problem via that cocktail of meds). The latest idea was to try KETAMINE...first as a nasal spray to see if I got totally weird, then if not, via IV application. (Yes, for you "House M.D." fans, that's what he had to re-boot his 'pain brain' after he was shot).

Research on Ketamine for tinnitus/hyperacusis is very, very thin on the ground. I turned up next to nothing on a Google search, though it is clear that it could have some risks...which was prepared to take at this point. (I have VERY loud tinnitus and it aggravates at very little noise excuse). The Ketamine potential to somewhat re-boot brain pathways was intriguing, as that seems to be where this tinnitus problem lies. However, re-boots could be a re-boot of what exactly and to where???!!!

Only one way to find out...so I went ahead.