New to Tinnitus: Add Anxiety and Stress and You Get Panic Attacks and Sleepless Nights

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by StuartGreg, Oct 29, 2020.

1. StuartGreg

StuartGreg Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possibly silicone earplugs
      Hi everyone,

I am totally new to this experience of tinnitus.

I was unlucky enough to notice a change in my left ear precisely 8 days ago. A faint but definite "hissing" sound - or perhaps it might better be described as "static-like"; yes, most of the time it's fairly faint but in quiet rooms it's always perceptible.

Then, approximately 4-5 days ago the sound was accompanied occasionally by what I think is pulsatile tinnitus - or perhaps it's better to describe it as "fluttering" because it is often not closely in time with my heartbeat, even though the heartbeat itself is usually pretty pronounced in the ear area while the fluttering is going on.

I have been a sufferer of anxiety for many years. Add to this the fact that I've been under considerable stress at work for quite some time and it's hardly surprising that I've been suffering virtual panic attacks these last couple of nights, especially when I get the pulsations. Obviously, each time this is all happening, somewhat of a vicious cycle is set up, and I've suffered two fairly sleepless nights, and had to take time off work.

Today I visited my GP. After having looked in the left ear and seeing "virtually no wax" [I had cleaned it a few days earlier so suspected that was what she would find] and seeing no damage at all to my eardrum, she has referred me to a hospital clinic for some tests.

I think I have lost a little hearing in the left ear. It's only very slight, but I know it's there because when I listen to music through headphones, everything is shifted slightly to the right, and I think in the left ear the music sounds more "bassy" as if some of the higher frequencies have been lost.