Newbie to TinnitusTalk with a Few Questions...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Michael Fleming, Apr 29, 2018.

1. Michael Fleming

Michael Fleming Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi All
      I'm a newbie to this site but it looks really great, with loads of information. I've had progressively worsening Tinnitus in my right ear for 2 years now. No real hearing loss but plenty of headaches and a few dizzy spells, been to several doctors and consultants and have been helpfully told that it's nothing serious. The MRIs confirmed that they couldn't find anything so their response has been pretty much 'you'll just have to learn to live with it'. To be honest I was starting to find it bearable after the first 9-12 months but since then every 2-3 months it get's noticeably worse and now is definitely challenging my quality of life.

The doctors still can't see anything obvious though I do have a couple of bulges on neck vertebrae (can't remember which ones). I am particularly interested whether this could be causing some sort of hypertension (as the back of my head always feels pressurised) which could then be leading to the Tinnitus becoming worse. Also one article on the site mentioned teeth clenching which I don't but bizarrely I do find myself constantly pushing my tongue up against my upper teeth so was wondering if that could be somehow involved.

Regards
      Michael

2. Greg Sacramento

Greg Sacramento Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Syringing + Somatic tinnitus from dental work
      @Michael Fleming What would ready help is do you have any arm pain?
      This would mean that disc material is pinching or pressing on a cervical nerve. If so, C6 is most likely.