Phenergan Used for Relief of Pulsatile Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by volsung37, Mar 11, 2015.

1. volsung37

volsung37 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      I have been sufering from PT for around 5 months now. I have it in my left ear. I believe it is associated with a severe infection I had in April 2014. I had a terrible bout of a flu-like condition and it led to a perforated eardrum (quite possibly the worst pain I have ever experienced). I had hearing loss for a few months after this but it settled down by about August. I still didn't feel quite right but had no ear problems. Then in October 2014 I awoke one night with a loud whooshing noise in my left ear. A month or so later I had another perforated eardrum - this time with no pain.
      I have changed my diet - no dairy and taken supplements but the only thing that really seems to affect the pulsatile tinnitus (PT) is phenergan (promethazine). I originally took it as a sleeping pill as I have difficulty sleeping with the constant pulse. I found that not only could I sleep but the PT would disappear or become very muted for a period sfterwards. The first time I took it I didn't hear pulsations for a week. Now it only lasts one to two days. Has anyone else experienced this? I now take two tablets once a week when I have to catch up on my sleep deficit. Phenergan is an anti-histamine so it could point to my PT being caused by some sort of inflammation that the phenergan works on. I am aware that it could also be just masking symptoms so will be calling in with my GP re tests etc. Just wondering if anyone had similar experiences with phenergan or other anti-histamines generally.

2. James
      No Mood

James Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Pulsing 03/2013
      Hello @volsung37