Previously Some Hearing Loss and Tinnitus — Recently My Ear Was Slapped and Tinnitus Got Worse

Discussion in 'Support' started by Krummi, Nov 5, 2020.

1. Krummi

Krummi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everybody, my name is Krummi and I’m an Icelandic musician.

Recently I’ve been experiencing considerable ringing in the ears/tinnitus since mid-October 2020. I have some hearing loss from playing music for over 25 years and have had a VERY low hiss since way back that has never really bothered me.

About 3 months ago my right ear was slapped accidentally, not hard, I might add. But I knew right away that my eardrum was slightly ruptured. After my perforated eardrum healed I started to hear loud ringing in my ears, little more in my right ear to be exact.

My ENT doctor didn’t tell me much, but told me that my ears look fine after inspection and my eardrum was healed. My tinnitus fluctuates and there are days in between where I only hear low hissing in quiet rooms, then it flares up again. I’m pretty sure I’ve experienced spikes but not sure how loud they were on a scale of 1-10.

I’m hoping that I have acute tinnitus and it will get better in the next 2-3 months. The sounds are like high pitched buzz that fluctuates accompanied by hissing and sometimes a steady mid-range ringing.

I’m hoping that some of you could give me some information about my situation? I’m aware that you never really know about tinnitus recovery but I would love to get your perspective!

Thank you ❤️

Sincerely
      Krummi

P.S. In the following attachment is my audiogram for reference.

B88189FD-550A-40B6-98C5-7D6C6B2796B6.jpeg

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Krummi

Krummi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi again, Just to be clear my main question is, how likely will I recover considering my hearing loss?