Pulsatile Tinnitus and Ear Spasms

Discussion in 'Support' started by Mike Evangelo, Oct 17, 2017.

1. Mike Evangelo
      Wishful

Mike Evangelo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      September 9, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all,

This is my first post in the forum as I am new to tinnitus. A background on me: I am a drummer and have been playing for almost 4 years. I started using hearing protection around this time last ear.

Before all this happened, I had been experiencing itchy ears for at least a month, and I was using q tips 2-3 times a day. When i first visited the doctor I thought I just had an ear infection, and I turned out to be right (according to the doctor). She said there was a little bit of fluid in my right ear and I started using ear drops. The itching and visible fluid eventually went away but the spasms remained.

A few days after this visit I began experiencing a pulsating in my left ear whenever I lay down. This is constant and never goes away where as the ear spasms come and go. My right ear mainly has been fluttering/vibrating about 3-4 times a week.When it starts, it will sometimes go on for up to 10 hours. When it starts, it will usually rapidly click and vibrate every 5-10 seconds and then slowly become less frequent over time. It sometimes feels like an open/closing sensation when it happens twice at a time - It is hard to explain. The spasms will usually wake me up in my sleep, or just randomly start during the day.

I find it strange though as the ear spasms ALWAYS happen on Friday and late Sunday/early Monday morning. Sometimes the fluttering will start in my left ear, but it is rare and usually ends fairly quick.