Saying Hello 7 Months After Tinnitus Onset — Noise Exposure/ETD

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by iamtigerjames, Mar 18, 2022.

1. iamtigerjames

iamtigerjames Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Exposure/ETD
      I have been browsing Tinnitus Talk since the first ring 7 months ago, and figured it was about time I made an account and said hi!

I'm 24, and the ringing started last August. It was pretty minor until December when I went to an NFL game and forgot my earplugs (yikes!). I then listened to AirPods for most of the 9 hour car ride home, which definitely didn't help. The ringing is in my right ear 90% of the time, and then when it gets bored it goes on a road trip to the left side for 10 minutes or so before going back home.

Since then, it has gotten progressively worse with little to no noise exposure that could trigger it. I stopped using AirPods, and transitioned to using over-ear headphones with no noise-cancelling at a maximum of 50% volume for when I wanted to listen to music. I wore headphones for no more than an hour at a time, once a day so my ears could breathe. I use a Sound Oasis sound machine when I sleep to help mask the sound, but it is becoming less effective as the tinnitus worsens.