See How They Treat Their Veterans

Discussion in 'Support' started by James gagnon, Jul 31, 2018.

1. James gagnon

James gagnon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi,

My name is James. I was taking Alprazolam that was prescribed to me from the V.A. for the last 10 years 3 mg a day.

Now they say no more. They cut me to 1 mg a day for 2 months. That's it.

Well with me it dosn't work that way. Anyway they don't care it's starting to get really bad. The tinnitus that is.

I am a veteran and I have never had anything like this! What can I do? They won't do anything for it.

They say it will ease up, but all it's doing is getting louder. Any one share with me?

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. BobbyH

BobbyH Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustical trauma
      Your profile shows tinnitus since 2018 but Alprazolam prescribed for 10 years. What was the Alprazolam prescribed for?

Another thing to keep in mind is, due to opioid concerns, the VA is now testing (without telling you) during your annual physical for opioids, benzodiazepines, and marijuana in your system. I’m not saying you're testing positive but it would be a reason to discontinue your Alprazolam.

Ranting about “see how they treat their veterans” may not get much sympathy here because the VA does provide veterans with help with their tinnitus that many non-veterans cannot afford.

If you think the doctor who cut your benzodiazepine prescription is wrong, I might respectfully suggest you talk to the Patient Advocate at your home VAMC for assistance.

I’m not criticizing you, only trying to help.

Bobby

3. BobbyH

BobbyH Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustical trauma