Six and a Half Weeks Now

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by theekarwash, Jun 22, 2014.

1. theekarwash
      Nerdy

theekarwash Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise and/or Ear Infeciton
      Hey guys. I've posted the following on /r/tinnitus on reddit and thought I would paste here and get a second opinion.

So I got my tinnitus 6 1/2 weeks from today. At first I didn't really notice it, I was watching Groundhog Day and it noticed a slight ringing in my left ear. No big deal, I play drums, it'll be gone in the morning. Wrong. (I should mention here that I hadn't played drums or been to a concert in over a months time at this stage)

I've been playing drums for 7 years and I listen to headphones (podcasts mostly) very frequently and I study video and film in Unversity. I'm 19 years old. As a young teenager I would listen to music quite loudly but in recent years I've stopped as I knew about tinnitus and hearing loss and wanted to prevent it. The day before I noticed my tinnitus I listened to something I was editing for Uni too loud for about 5 minutes just to make sure audio levels were correct.

During the week I started noticing it more and more. I got cold/flu like symptoms two days later, runny nose, sore throat, etc. I also developed an itchy ear and some pain in my ear during the week (on and off). I went to the doctor on the following Thursday, she says my eardrum is a little red and I tell her about the itchyness. She prescribes antibiotics and ear drops.