Slowly Losing the Will with This...

Discussion in 'Support' started by Vicky17, Aug 21, 2018.

1. Vicky17

Vicky17 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello everyone. Newbie here with first post. Warning - it's going to be a long one. Some of this may not be at all relevant to my ears but I figured I'd give a history.

I’m 47 and until March this year, had kept myself reasonably fit. I had been running 3 times a week and regularly lift weights. The only thing I have historically had is a bad case of labrythitis about 7 years ago but I’ve not had it since.

Back in March I had four migraines with aura. I'd never had migraines before so these came as a real shock. I went to see a GP who just told me to get on with it and said it was probably caused by stress as my son has some ongoing medical issues. In between the migraines I had this strange feeling around my right ear that and as I didn't know what it was, I explained it to the GP as a 'headache behind the ear'. The GP gave me some Amitryptiline which I didn't take as I don't really like taking tablets. One day at the end of March I woke up with a completely dead left arm. The GP told me to go to A&E and I had a CT scan to rule out a brain tumour as my father died of this. Nothing showed up on the scan and I was sent home. I haven't had any migraines since. My anxiety at this point was through the roof!

Over the following month I saw about 5 different GP's about this 'headache behind the ear'. I explained that it was throbbing and asked if I had an ear infection. Each doctor said there was no infection and either sent me on my way or gave me tablets to take (Naproxen being one of them and a beta blocker being another - I didn't take those either).