Something I Don't Get with Your Brain Is Trying to Replace the Lost Sound Frequency Theory

Discussion in 'Support' started by spinnaker, Sep 4, 2019.

1. spinnaker

spinnaker Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1980s
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown / hearing loss
      My tinnitus is at a very high frequency and is very loud.

Something I don't get with your brain is trying to replace the sound theory... If I had to hear that tone at anytime even with great hearing, it would drive me insane. In fact I used to work as a tech in a television repair shop back in the day and I would often be able to hear the horizontal oscillator at 15,737 Hz (in the US). It would drive me nuts,

So if that is the sound my brain is trying to replace, it is not a normal sound. Why don't people with normal hearing have the same problem?

Or is my brain just picking that tone as the "replacement" sound? If so, gee thanks brain. ;)

• Good Question Good Question x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • Funny Funny x 1
    2. daiso

daiso Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I never buy that theory. I find it hard to believe that the brain will do something so stupid. The brain just interprets what comes its way, which in case of tinnitus, is the sounds produced by the damaged hair cells that are not the same sounds when they are normal, and hence not interpreted as silence by the brain.

3. John Mahan

John Mahan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      I believe you are perverting the theory. :)