Spike in Tinnitus... (Venting)

Discussion in 'Support' started by bur547, May 5, 2018.

1. bur547

bur547 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise combined with ketoconazole
      I've been wearing an ear plug in my bad ear EVERY DAY for the past 3 months whenever I leave my house. It's been the best thing I have done for myself, slowly and steadily my T has gotten quieter to the point where I don't notice it most of the time.

I was visiting friends yesterday, and tired of the gentle jokes I often get from my earplug I just wanted to be a normal person out and I thought "Well I'm in a home, it's not like I'm outside where loud sounds can happen randomly" So I took my earplug out. Stupid mistake #1

Then I was playing with my friends 3 year old, and she wanted me to pretend I was sleeping. I think you can see where this is going. Stupid mistake #2

Next thing I know she yelled directly into my bad ear while I had my eyes closed. I'm so mad at myself, after everything I've done to protect myself and I get the worst possible that can happen, in a place where I assumed I would be safe. I should have known better.

Now the next day the ringing is back loud enough that I notice it above most sounds. It's not the worst it's ever been, but it's the worst it's been in a long time. I'm also getting intermittent loud ringing that lasts 20 or 30 seconds at a time, and my ear has a dull ache in it. I'm guessing this will take a few weeks to heal back to the old levels.

I mostly need to vent, I'm not too worried in the long run but I'm angry with myself and a little depressed that I've set my progress back. After it happened I put my earplug back in and my friend says "It's not that bad is it?". It's so hard to explain to anyone who doesn't have it, and I don't want to sit there and cry about it and try to make people feel sorry for me. So what can I say? Yes it's bad, no it's not bad. It's not cancer I guess. *SIGH*

• Hug Hug x 9