Stupid Question: Do Electric Toothbrushes, Clarisonic, Headsets Make Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Canyonmom, Dec 7, 2015.

1. Canyonmom

Canyonmom Member

Tinnitus Since:
      I've had T for at least the past 5 years (high pitched buzzing, like cicadas). But recently I have developed a low-pitched mechanical sound mainly in the right ear (like a car engine idling very fast or a piece of equipment). Sometimes it gets louder for no apparent reason. My head also sort of feels like it's throbbing, but it's hard to tell. It's not a headache.

I first began noticing it a few months ago, after I brushed my teeth with my Sonicare toothbrush (which I have been using for more than 20 years with no problems). The sound lasted a little while and then went away after an hour or so.

But now it's constant. It started to be constant after I had arthroscopic surgery on my hip last month (the surgery lasted only 20 minutes and I doubt there were any very loud sounds, but I haven't asked my doctor yet -- I had the same surgery on the other hip 3 years ago and this didn't happen). I noticed it after I got home from the surgery center, and it has not gone away. Nothing will make it stop. Sometimes it just gets quieter. I hear it even when I'm wearing earplugs. It's the same sound that I would hear after using my Sonicare -- but now it doesn't stop.

This morning, I had an unpleasant dream, and when I woke up, the sound was extremely loud! It took several hours for it to quiet down a little bit. I use a CPAP, (but I've used it for about 4 years and never felt that it affected my ears).

At times I feel like I can't hear well because of this sound. I have noticed that it gets worse after I play my guitar (nylon string, not plugged in), even if I'm not playing loudly. Certain frequencies seem to make it worse.

Now I'm afraid to use my Sonicare toothbrush or my Clarisonic skin brush because I'm afraid things that vibrate near my ears or on my face make this worse.