Sudden Hearing Loss in One Ear, Severe Tinnitus and Vertigo

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by B-quiet, Aug 11, 2014.

1. B-quiet

B-quiet Member

Tinnitus Since:
      I'm new to this, but am looking for support because I don't know anyone my age (45) that has had this horrible disease called labrynthitis. I was a fitness instructor and worked with children. Since this, my world had tumbled down on me!! I've had to quit my jobs and stay as far away from any noise that I can as it only makes it worse. I had a sudden pop in my left ear and went deaf within an hour,horrible episodes of vertigo daily, and much worse than anything is the TINNITUS! My quality of life is terrible and have lost friendships and a social life. People do not understand the extent of this. A fork dropping sounds like cymbals banging in my ear, a car going by sounds like a freight train going over my head. I wear earplugs but then I can't hear anything except the awful noise! No concerts, no bars, no get togethers.....it's all too much for me!!! I'm miserable and have been to some of the best hospitals in my area. No cure for Tinnitus and the hearing aide didn't help at all. I have daily anxiety attacks. I want my life back. Only suggestion I've gotten is to wear earplugs ( and of course not be involved in any conversation) as noise can cause additional hearing loss and tinnitus in other ear, which happened a few days ago when I took plugs out in a noisy environment! I'm scared to death to go deaf!!!! Only thing they can suggest is anti-depressant, anxiety meds and Cognitive Behavior Therapy! I find it hard to believe this cannot be cured!

• Hug Hug x 1
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    2. Teri
      Caffeine

Teri Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      4/2014
      This is a great forum to come to for support. Welcome and I hope that you come to find some peace.