This Worked for Me to Minimize the Noise of Tinnitus in My Head

Discussion in 'Support' started by KRM, Nov 8, 2016.

1. KRM

KRM Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3 weeks ago (Sat 22nd Oct 2016)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      DJ at wedding reception thinking he was in a nightclub
      Hi everyone,

I am new to tinnitus. After protecting my ears for 47 years, I made the mistake of attending a wedding reception with a DJ who is now in the running for biggest A-hole of the universe.
      It only took 2 hours to ruin my ears and give me both high-frequency tinnitus and hyperacusis.

Although I am currently completing a PhD in science, the only real joy I get from life is playing my double-bass. I have (or had) perfect pitch and music is my life.

For the past 3 weeks, I have been following an emotional circus of horror, despair and panic. Not a day has gone by in the last three weeks when I haven't cried. All joy had drained out of my life to be replaced by the constant sound of a pressure-cooker releasing steam, with a high tone behind it, coming from inside my head. The idea of being stuck with tinnitus forever made me feel like lying down on the nearest road (or taking up extreme adventure sports!).

Although my hyperacusis was improving, the tinnitus wasn't. I finally saw an ENT doctor yesterday after he offered me a payment plan for his $250 fee.

He said that some of his patients had lessened their symptoms by taking SERC (Betahistine DiHCl) tablets and Blackmores Gingko 6000mg (Tebonin).