Tinnitus After Otitis Media / Glue Ear

Discussion in 'Support' started by HelloWorld, May 28, 2021.

1. HelloWorld

HelloWorld Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      otitis media, glue ear
      Hello everyone,

Since the 18th of May, 2021 I have had a very loud high pitched noise in my right ear. Around a week prior to this I went to the doctor to get my ear checked because for a few months I could not hear clearly in my right ear (almost deaf) - which was not due to noise exposure - and I thought it was time to visit the doctor. He said that I had otitis media and he gave me Sofradex. After 7 days the infection went away, but then around 5 days later my tinnitus started.

It's been less than 2 weeks, but this is driving me crazy, and I am starting to get worried about it being permanent. I can't really do my work properly and my ADD might even make it worse. I am a software developer.

I found the following sound on YouTube that changes the high pitched sound into something that sounds like static noise from a fridge. But after a few moments the high pitch comes back. Could listening to this make it worse in the long term?

Tinnitus Cure In 30 Minutes | Most Powerful...

I am currently using a spray for the glue ear. Any advice is appreciated.

Kind regards.

2. K.A.

K.A. Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      2008, then 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      Otitis media for many months but you have not been prescribed antibiotics?

How do you know the infection is gone if your ear is still "glue ear"?

If this is persistent, I would consider talking to the doctor again...

(Though be careful you don't get antibiotics that are ototoxic.)

EDIT: I later read that "Sofradex" might actually have an antibiotic component, but I don't know anything about it. You should check up if this medication could have something to do with it. Maybe also consider antioxidants, but please search the forum more, I am not a doctor.