Tinnitus and Motorcycling

Discussion in 'Support' started by MTL, Jun 13, 2016.

1. MTL

MTL Member

Tinnitus Since:
      November 2014
      I'm about 20 months into this new life - constant, high pitch tinnitus, brought on by sudden loud sound exposure in an enclosed area. Fairly loud - like hear it over a TV kinda loud (I know all relative) 24/7, around 7,000 Hz - 7,500 Hz.

I have not had much success with any treatments thus far - although Bio-Feedback at least helped me to deal with some of the anxiety, I was doing the notched music therapy on my iPhone for a year - no impact... Now onto my question - more specific to any motorcyclists out here who ride - but I welcome any advice.

I've been riding off and on for 30 years (a vast majority of time with earplugs), and over the past 10 it's taken on even more meaning and relevance in my life. I've really struggled this past summer and now finding the right combination to alleviate or mask the tinnitus when riding. I do not have a very loud bike - dual sport, thumper (those that ride will know) - but there are the vibes to deal with. So I've been trying various combinations of helmets, earplugs, windscreens... etc. I have some custom Westone earplugs/monitors arriving shortly. I guess my goal has been to create the quietest environment possible inside the helmet (which really brings the tinnitus to the fore), so I can then overlay some masking music or noise so that my tinnitus isn't so deafening. If I don't get things quite first - then I not only risk further hearing damage - but the amount of noise, confounded with my tinnitus makes riding even worse. I have a quiet helmet, have some good motorcycle specific noise reducing earplugs (they target frequencies typical of wind noise and vibes while allowing other non harmful frequencies. I think they are like 25 dB attenuation at the targeted frequencies. I then have some helmet speakers I'm playing music over. So far, this is coming close, but with the plugs in a