Tinnitus, Ears and Swimming, Water etc

Discussion in 'Support' started by tweak, Apr 30, 2012.

1. tweak

tweak Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/12
      Hi,
      Ok this might be a bit of a stupid question! But it it wise to do water sports in early stages where water can get in your ears. Things like swimming or surfing in the sea not swimming pool etc. I'm thinking its fine unless someone tells me otherwise?
      Thanks

2. Markku
      Inspired

Markku Founder Staff Podcast Patron Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Syringing
      Normal swimming is at least fine unless you have ruptured/perforated ear drum.

I don't know but I myself probably wouldn't jump in head first though, at least from heights. I've never done that before tinnitus either, so that's just my gut feeling...

Swimming is awesome tho!

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      tweak

tweak Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/12
      Ok I suppose I'm more thinking is it ok for water or sea water to get in the ear. Its a clean beach. No don't have perforate ear drum.

4. sworthi245
      Balanced

sworthi245 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/02/12
      Working on a vacation to the beach, and my son and I spend a lot of time at "the big city pool" with a large water slide. Being relatively new to T, I not been through the summer yet.

Has anyone been swimming with T? Does it make your T worse if you get water in your ears? I know there are ear plugs for swimmers that keep out the water, but don't want to deal with another item to purchase (and keep up with) for this scourge. However, I will do what I have to do to keep going and doing with my son.

Your experiences are appreciated. TTFN!

5. daedalus

daedalus Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2007
      I sometimes swim. Of course i hear more my tinnitus underwater or with water in my ears but i am not bothered because i know it is just temporary.

6. anderson

anderson Member Benefactor