Tinnitus for a Couple of Weeks: Prior to That, Worked in the Construction Field for Two Years

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by ltwhisper, Oct 29, 2020.

1. ltwhisper

ltwhisper Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      8/08/2020 accoustic trauma + loud environnement
      Hello everyone,

My tinnitus started around two weeks ago, and the first night was a nightmare. I kind of already knew what was going on and I just didn't want to believe it was happening.

I worked in the construction field for two years (left last week) and I was wearing only earplug protection. I kind of knew they were not the best protection but I didn't think it would lead to this. Here I am, with a high pitch ringing in my left ear (can almost hear it above the shower). I felt stupid, dumb, I mean.

Suicide was an option for a while but I came across Tinnitus Talk and within 3 days I managed to compose myself quick and accept it.

Sleep time is the worst part, during the day it's okay, the hard part is fighting the flight or fight response from my brain. I don't have anxiety or stress anymore but I still feel my body being kind of stiff.

Anyway, for now all I can say is thank you, thank you, Tinnitus Talk has helped me so much.
      I am reading a lot about the research and new treatments that may come in the future and it gives me hope.

For now though, trying my best to live with this new friend. (Sorry, I don't get to practice English a lot).

• Hug Hug x 8
    2. Hazel
      Dreaming

Hazel Director Staff Podcast Patron Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      one-sided hearing loss (of unknown origin)
      Really good to hear that the site has helped you! That's why we keep doing this :)

It sounds like you're on your way to recovery, very happy for you. We hope you'll stick around to help others!

• Like Like x 3
    3. Gabriel5050
      No Mood

Gabriel5050 Member Podcast Patron Benefactor