Tinnitus from Antidepressant (Fluoxetine) — Seeking Advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by andronici, Jul 8, 2022.

1. andronici

andronici Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Antidepressant Withdrawal; Loud movie
      Hello all,

I'm new to tinnitus and am seeking advice on how to manage it. In short, I had a severe adverse reaction to the antidepressant Fluoxetine, which caused me nerve pain as well as a ton of other side effects. I developed tinnitus a week or so after I stopped the medication, so it seems to be more of a withdrawal symptom rather than an adverse effect. 4-5 months later, I am still dealing with serious, disabling neurological issues, as well as tinnitus.

In addition to intermittent nerve pain in my head, neck, and occasionally other parts of my body, I also seem to have ear pain and ear pressure that fluctuates. I might have some mild sensitivity to loud sounds, though I'm not 100% sure. I have tinnitus 24/7 -- more constant in the right ear, in the left ear it comes in and out, and sometimes it feels more centered in my head. It's generally a high-pitched ringing or static sound, sometimes it's more like crickets. It fluctuates in volume, quality, and pitch. While it can change even when I'm sitting in silence, it seems exposure to sound causes my ear pressure and the tinnitus to fluctuate even more. Unfortunately, the tinnitus has gotten worse over the months -- it used to be quieter and less "reactive" - it was completely masked when watching tv, while now I hear it and its fluctuations frequently when watching tv. I did see two ENTs and they said I had no hearing loss or any issues with my ears.

Sometimes I will occasionally get a quiet "click" sound in my ears. It's most noticeable if I have my ear resting on a pillow. Also sometimes swallowing will change the tinnitus pitch, but not always.