Tinnitus in School

Discussion in 'Support' started by melburrito, Jun 28, 2013.

1. melburrito

melburrito Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/22/13
      Hi everyone,

I recently developed tinnitus. I am in medical school, just like another story from Meecat that I recently read about. It started about 5 days ago. I just took my last set of exams for third year but I still have the board exams to take in the next month.

I don't exactly recall when it started but I've had occasional ringing that would go away, sometimes when I willed it to go away. I believe this time it was a gradual onset, and isn't associated with any other symptoms. I haven't had fevers, vertigo or migraines. I haven't been in loud concerts. Thus making me wonder why I started having it all of a sudden.

Since it's been about a week now, I notice that it's worse in the evening. It's worse esp when I'm studying, because I need quiet to concentrate. But the best part of the day is right when I wake up, and also from naps, I am able to enjoy about a good 5-10 mins of peace and silence.

I went to my PCP and got a whole lot of meds and am trying every single one of them. The T has decreased in volume, but the pitch has increased since I started taking the meds yesterday.

I am unsure if this is going to alter my path in med school, if I'll need to take extra time off, a month? two? three? half a year? before I can focus on my work again.

Please let me know your thoughts and thank you for reading.

2. Job
      Worried

Job Member

Tinnitus Since:
      7/2009