Tinnitus Increase and Hearing Loss in Left Ear.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Johnnypro, Oct 13, 2014.

1. Johnnypro

Johnnypro Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/1993
      OK, I also posted this in the ask a doctor section.

I've been a musician for 40 years and my basic Tinnitus is probably my own fault. But lately, for a year or so, I've noticed that whenever I work with my head down (ex: on my lawn, cleaning the tub, on my lawnmower, driveway, deck, etc) for more than 15 minutes, I will, about 1/2 hour later get a MAJOR increase in the ringing in my left ear as well as a loss of high pitch in that ear. Up to recently, that would last about 2 days and then go back to normal levels. A week ago, I worked on my lawn for a while one day, and when it got LOUD, it didn't go away. I've been to my ENT doctor just before this last onset, and they did notice a difference in my hearing even when I didn't. Now, as I said, it's much worse and doesn't want to go away. He said he never heard of such a thing, but is sending me for an ABR test to check for a tumor.

Oh and when this is happening, loud noises are very distorted and crackly in the left ear. .

Is this all that rare or unheard of??? Is there a way to reverse it?? (Look UP for an hour?? :) Help!!!!!

Thanx!! JOHN P.

2. Michael2013
      Happy

Michael2013 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      September 2013
      Seems like there is always something strange going on with our ears and tinnitus.

I experience some of what you describe, too. If I bend over or do anything where blood rushes to my head or increases head pressure in any way, I lose a bit of hearing and tinnitus increases until I am back upright. Then it goes back to normal. I experience this when I do any hard physical activity as well.