MEM/TTTS/Diplacusis: Clogged and Vibration Sensation

Discussion in 'Support' started by Samantha R, Jun 9, 2020.

1. Samantha R

Samantha R Member Podcast Patron Benefactor Ambassador

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all,

I've been managing my high-pitched tinnitus fine for the last 4 years.

The following symptoms have come on progressively over the last 4 weeks:
      • Fluttering sensation in ear turning to vibration. This is definitely a sensation as well as a sound - I suspect Middle Ear Myoclonus / Tonic Tensor Tympani Syndrome.
      • Feeling of fluid in ear, crawling sensation around the outer ear.
      • Aural fullness, but I can pop my ear. The fullness subsides as the vibration does.
      • Diplacusis - when my children (especially) speak, I get a tone like a recorder (which is probably an echo) of the sound.
      All these symptoms are in my right ear only and seem to have progressively changed, in that the flutter is now a vibration and appears to be with me all the time.

Leading up to this, I had a head cold.

Standard hearing test was normal and no change from 4 years ago.

Two days prior to this I had a minor surgical procedure and was given a light sedation. I'd also received hormone treatment as I was undergoing an IVF cycle (unsuccessful, which is probably a good thing right now).

I've seen a GP who initially said I had fluid behind my eardrum but that appears to have resolved. Because I suspect I have MEM, I have been begging to try a muscle relaxant. Found a GP who would prescribe Baclofen. Benzos appear to help and calm the vibration, I’m not sure about the Baclofen.

I have a regular ENT appointment on Wednesday, but found an otoneurologist who's treated MEM before and I have just sent off my information and referral for an appointment.

@Greg Sacramento, do you have any ideas here? It's become really distressing and I'm afraid.