What Are Some Quiet Jobs? I Was Thinking of Working as White Water Rafting Guide

Discussion in 'Support' started by zswizzle, Feb 15, 2022.

1. zswizzle

zswizzle Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hey all, I'm posting here because I'm still fairly new to tinnitus and could use some input on a decision I have to make soon. Last October I got tinnitus in my left ear and mild noise sensitivity in both ears. This was a result (probably) of going to a music festival and some other loud events all in the period of a week or two. I went to an ENT and tried Prednisone but that didn't do much. I've been slowly habituating to it until a week ago. I had a setback due to a dental cleaning where now there's a slight ringing in my right ear too as well as my left, and the left has increased in volume. Hopefully it isn't permanent.

I've been resting at my folks place and trying to take it easy to give me ears a chance to heal. But this summer I was planning on working as a white water rafting guide. At least that was my plan until I started having these ear problems. I've worked as a guide for the past few years now, and am just now starting to question whether doing it for another summer would be a bad decision or not. I'm stuck between wanting to give my ears a full chance to heal and just waiting it out indefinitely, but at some point I do feel like I want to try to move on with my life. I really want to go back to my old job because I have a good thing going out there with friends and my girlfriend but I just don't know if it's the best decision. The job definitely can be kinda loud, we're loading things on buses everyday and yelling at people while going down a roaring river, but I think I could wear earplugs for the most part, I'm not sure. What do y'all think? Is it a terrible idea to do that?