Worried About Hearing "Microphone Feedback" in Reaction to PC Fans, Running Water, etc.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by DimLeb, Jun 21, 2021.

1. DimLeb

DimLeb Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Idiopathic Cochleopathy or Maybe Loud Music
      Hello there.

I'm a 27-year-old male from Greece and I've been working with music for almost a decade. I've been doing (electronic) music production since 2013 and have been playing in some bands + gone to several concerts. The last 4 years or so I had been wearing earplugs at noisy places, metro, etc and didn't go to many concerts. I just made music at home at reasonable volumes.

I got tinnitus 3 months back (on March 14th). A faint cicadas/crickets sound in my left ear. I got checked by an ear doctor and he found nothing concerning hearing loss. I even did an MRI (base of skull, ears, brain) and it was all normal.

Anyway, just as I was getting used to it, 5 days ago it seems to have changed. 1-2 new pitches appeared (very faint, very low volume), at 5 kHz-10 kHz, occasionally in one ear, and sometimes in the other. It's still very faint, and not happening all the time.

But what really worries me is that a single pitch seems to appear when I hear moderate sounds (PC fans, running water etc). Like microphone feedback or something on top of the sound in one or the other ear.

It's still not that severe, but I'm really anxious in case it becomes worse.

These 3 months I was masking that first cicadas sound and all, but now I don't think this can be masked... it's better to be in silence I believe.

So this is my story so far... Thanks for having me here. Your forum seems so helpful.

Anyone knows anything about this? I've booked an ear doctor visit, but for tinnitus they don't seem that helpful after all.

2. MindOverMatter

MindOverMatter Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (possibly stress related, and later sound induced)