Worsening Tinnitus After Trying Notch Therapy

Discussion in 'Support' started by CC333, Oct 21, 2021.

1. CC333

CC333 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      9/20/21
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced/High Salt Medication
      Hi, I guess I'm posting this because I'm freaking out, it's been 24 hours since everything got worse. I learned about Notch Therapy on the ATA website and used https://tinnitusnotch.com/ which was suggested by a Tinnitus Talk member to try to match my frequency.

I think it was a huge mistake. I have different frequencies in each ear so I tried my right ear first, I got up to 15,000 Hz and couldn't find a match but after I tried I noticed the pitch had changed, it was higher and louder and I also had a fullness/pressure in that ear as well as a headache brewing on the right side. The left side seems to have a slightly higher pitch as well, it was not subjected to those frequencies though. I'm fairly new to tinnitus (one month or so) and I'm not sure if I've ever experienced a spike before so I'm not sure if this is just a spike or if this change will be permanent. It's definitely much worse than it was before and I miss the monster I knew.

I'm very stressed and mad at myself, asking myself why I did it since it had only been a month and I feel I should not have even tried it but I was looking for anything to help it and now I fear I've just done more damage and made everything much worse. I'm mostly looking for support, anyone who has any advice or tips on tinnitus or how to calm down. I'm kind of a neurotic person, I am easily frustrated when I feel I'm not in control and I think that just adds to the catastrophic thinking and stress.

Does anyone have anything that might help me mentally? How long should I expect a spike to last? I appreciate any advice or help!

• Hug Hug x 4
    2. PortugalTheMan
      Shocked

PortugalTheMan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus: