14, Tinnitus from Birth — Just Found This Forum!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by piriamnai, May 13, 2019.

1. piriamnai
      Cheerful

piriamnai Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Birth
      Hi! I'm Vivian-Gray. I'm a 14 yr old 9th grader. I'm also an artist and planning on going to law school! (My art is in my avatar) I found this forum just a few minutes ago.

I've had tinnitus since I was born. It wasn't all that bad (when I was younger it only ever bothered me trying to sleep) but recently it's been getting worse along with some minor hearing loss I experienced. I think it's been in decline since about 2017. I monitor my headphone usage as best I can (setting limits and whatnot). It's also lopsided where my tinnitus is worse in my right ear and originates most from it. I also can't hear that well in that ear, so canceling it out or masking it is a little difficult. I try my best to ignore it but sometimes I get headaches.

It sounds similar to ringing, the best way I can describe it to people I know is just a constant "EEE" or "AAA" sound. Sometimes it flares out of nowhere, getting super loud in either one or both ears, and then quiets back down again. It also sometimes hurts, but not usually. I haven't been able to go to the doctor about it, so I don't know the exact degree of it but I know that it can get in the way of hearing the teacher at school and listening to people in general.

I'm really happy to have found this forum, the only other person I know with tinnitus is my mom.

Hopefully I can meet some other people my age here too?

• Hug Hug x 5
    2. jmasterj
      No Mood

jmasterj Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic?