2 Weeks in 24/7 Unknown Cause

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Buckaroo, Mar 25, 2016.

1. Buckaroo
      Curious

Buckaroo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 10, 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello all,

I have been sitting idly by and reading posts for that last week. Today, I wish to introduce myself and join this community of individuals striving to adjust and move forward with their lives in the face of T.

I am a musician and have been for 20 years; playing gigs, rehearsing, listening to music fairly loud. I have either been lucky with my hearing or very unlucky - I am not sure. Its been about 6 months since I have been exposed to loud musical frequencies and no long term T past a day or two here and there in the 20 years. Had a really bad upper respiratory infection (chest cold) a month ago, then T arrived about a week later. Slightly faint in right ear only noticeable at night, mid tone. Progressively worse over the following two weeks. Higher pitch now mostly in right ear but does move into the left as well and in head with slight hiss. Changes in pitch and volume day to day - some high volume days and some barely noticeable, sometimes multi-tones and sometimes just one.

I am not sure what caused my T. Audio-gram showed the hearing of a 13 year old boy but then again what 13 year old hears you ask them to pick up after themselves. LOL. Humor aside, this came out of the blue. I am a heavy coffee drinker, I am a recovering alcoholic/addict that hasn't had a lick in over 10 years, otherwise healthy individual. Took Ibuprofen the day before I noticed T but that correlation isn't proven, of course. My ENT said that most of the time we grasp for anything we can at first to correlate our T with which means either there are a million things that can contribute to T or it just happens for reasons unknown and stretch to blame it on anything we can. Either way. I have T.