34 Years of Tinnitus and Counting

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Leimarie, Apr 11, 2018.

1. Leimarie
      Cheerful

Leimarie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hello everyone, my name is Lisa and I came across this blog for Tinnitus support. I was 5 years old when I remember hearing my first ringing sound in my ears and I have lived with it every day of my life since.

My tinnitus varies in pitch, sound, sometimes multiple sounds at once etc... I have tried every imaginable therapy available, hearing aid, you name it and I've tried it. As an adult I decided I needed to learn to find coping mechanisms or I would probably go crazy. Life is not easy with tinnitus and I often wonder how long I will be able to exist in the working world because the older I get the worse the tinnitus seems to get.

I am a corporate trainer so the need to be able to effectively communicate and hear participants is crucial to my job.

Anyway, I head to a neurontologist to have some recent CT scans read and go from there. It's a shot in the dark but I always have hope that eventually something will work.

My family is very supportive but I don't think they understand the world I live in in regards to tinnitus.

Mentally, I am so tired at the end of the day because of trying to decipher out what people are saying over the ringing and having to focus so hard on listening. I wear hearing aids in both ears as I have pretty profound hearing loss.

I'm looking forward to reading the many threads of what has or hasn't worked for people and who knows maybe I'll try something new and it will work.

Much love and tinnitus music to all!

• Hug Hug x 3
    2. emmalee
      No Mood

emmalee Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ?
      Hello and welcome @Leimarie.