A New Tinnitus Kid in Town

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by 2Nine, Sep 17, 2015.

1. 2Nine
      Stressed

2Nine Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Long time ago
      Hello there,

my name is Pavel and I’m a musician. I play the guitar (not in a band), I produce music and I am a DJ as well, that gets me regularly into areas with high noise levels. I have ALWAYS had tinnitus as I remember, but it never felt like a problem. My brain was just filtering it out for good and I noticed it only the morning after a hard party or occasionally when going to sleep, but still, it happened really rarely (once per two months for example) and I very quickly forgot about it every time I noticed.

But recently, something bad happened. Three days ago I suddenly started to notice the sound all day long. I can’t tell if it’s louder than it has ever been or is it at the same volume level but my brain just decided to stop filtering it out. It seems suddenly i got stuck in “the loop” as it got very hard for me to stop thinking about it, it’s almost impossible to be honest.

Strange thing is that it didn’t happen after some party with loud music playing. It was after a really hard work week followed by even harder weekend. I work as an frontend developer / graphic designer, so my job is mostly sitting in front of a computer screen, and I usually don’t work on weekends, but we had a strict deadline for a product release this time.

Combined with other stuff (feeling guilt that I can’t be with my girlfriend on her first free weekend after a long study run for the masters degree, being pissed off by missing the half of my roommate birthday party and attending the other half, plus several things on my TODO list with approaching deadlines), it resulted in a really, really stressful weekend.