Anyone Else with Hyperacusis Still Drink Alcohol?

Discussion in 'Support' started by snez, Aug 1, 2017.

1. snez

snez Member

Tinnitus Since:
      July 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      no clue
      Hi,

I have been drinking wine and sparking wine for many years without any kind of effect on my ears, even when l had a binge session l would only suffer with tiredness the next day.

While l am drinking l feel so normal it only hits me the next day and the morning is the worst.

Now when l have my usual amount my ears feel so heavy and full and my sound sensitivity is so much worse the next 2 days and then settles down.

Now l feel like l can't drink anymore and l love my few glasses of wine over the weekends.

Does anyone else find alcohol makes their Hyperacusis worse?

How much do you drink and what do you drink?

It makes me feel so sad to think l can't enjoy drinking without being anxious of how l am going to feel the next day. My daughters are going away for a month on a school camp and l was really looking forward to have nice dinners and good wine with my husband but now l feel like it's all ruined by my bloody ear problems.

2. bekker

bekker Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise / festival
      When Im drunk my ears are less sensitive. Voices and other sounds hurts less. But the days after i feel my ears more then before.

I think the H Will be less if you take a rest the couple of weeks. And put in Some earplugs with loud sounds.

3. PaulBe

PaulBe Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably sound, though never proven
      I've not found it to make much difference, in reasonable quantities. Sometimes though, I've found that a decent hangover-level binge will induce it the day after.

4. Marc22
      Wtf

Marc22 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      exposure to broken muffler noise