Are My Earplugs Good Enough for Music Rehearsals?

Discussion in 'Dr. Stephen Nagler (MD)' started by MusicTeacher, Feb 5, 2020.

1. Dr. Nagler is not answering questions.
    Dismiss Notice
    1. MusicTeacher

MusicTeacher Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/12/19
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Rehearsals/Meds
      Dear Dr. Nagler,

First, thank you so much for your time. I’ve been dealing with tinnitus for the last 8 weeks. I can hear it all day long, aside from the shower. I’m a band director and musician for almost 20 years. I have a very small dip in hearing around the 4 kHz mark. I’m guessing this is where the tinnitus is coming from, but it’s a guess really. I’m told my hearing is excellent by several ENTs and audiologists. I’ve purchased molded ear protection in an effort to not make the tinnitus any worse. I’ve been using them almost since the onset of my lovely ring/hiss/electric static/etc.

Here’s my first question - my rehearsals are typically fluctuating between 60 and 85 decibels. They don’t often get into the 80s, but it does happen briefly. My ear plugs are supposed to cut out 25 decibels. Is this satisfactory? I ask because my right ear (which was the louder ear) was gradually coming down in volume, but now my left ear has jumped, which till now wasn’t as prevalent. Am I still damaging my ears, or is this typical within the first months of tinnitus?

My second question - how do I habituate when I’m constantly wearing ear protection at work? It brings my attention to the tinnitus... even more.

Teaching music is how I make a living-please help.

Very best
      Tom

2. Dr. Nagler

Dr. Nagler Member Clinician Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1994
      Hello @MusicTeacher. Thank you for your question. I sense some urgency on your part, and I just wanted you to know that you haven't fallen off my radar. I am pretty well covered up today - but I will try to respond as soon as I am able. Please check back.

Regards -

Stephen M. Nagler, M.D.