Been Reading for a Few Months. Noise-Induced Tinnitus.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by DAL523, Mar 3, 2018.

1. DAL523

DAL523 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concert
      Hi all,

I've been learning from this forum for a few months, basically since my symptoms started. It's not as bad as some cases, and I feel fortunate for that. I want to avoid things that might further damage my ears so it doesn't worsen.

On January 4, a friend asked me to meet her at a restaurant to hear a band she liked play. I didn't know anything about the group, but figured it couldn't be too bad noise level at a restaurant. (I normally avoid really loud places or wear earplugs). Plus, I could only stay for 30 minutes of concert, so I didn't worry too much about it.

The band ended up being a rock band, and the music seemed to get louder as it went. However, I think the problem was the screaming. At one point the musician had the whole crowd scream, and it's the only time my ears have ever physically hurt from noise. I left five minutes later.

Anyways, the ringing hasn't gone away in the past 2 months. It has reduced so I only notice it in pretty quiet places. It has become concentrated in my right ear, which is the one that most directly faced the stage. It seems louder when I'm fatigued. I saw an audiologist; they said I hadn't lost hearing in normal frequency ranges.

I can live with this, but I would obviously rather it go away. I'm hoping it will diminish. I carry earplugs pretty much everywhere now in case I end up in a loud environment. I've learned from several friends and family members that they experience something similar from concerts too. It's funny how none of them ever talked about it.

This is a really good group. People need to understand how tinnitus can develop. You all have given me a lot of encouragement.

Peter