Best Earplugs for Teaching?

Discussion in 'Support' started by MikeO123, May 29, 2019.

1. MikeO123

MikeO123 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hey everyone,

I work in a school part time. It's 5 days a week, 3.5 hours per day. It gets really loud sometimes with the kids yelling and the school bells. I was wondering what the best earplugs for me to wear while teaching would be.

I know about the occlusion effect so I'm worried about wearing silicone earplugs while talking loud or if I have to yell.

I'd hate to quit my job so I'm trying to see if there's a way I can still do it while at the same time making sure my ears are protected.

Thank you for your help.

2. Markku
      Inspired

Markku Founder Staff Podcast Patron Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Syringing
      I would recommend custom moulded ones. They are more expensive, but you can have various filters, and they're extremely comfortable and long-lasting while preserving audio fidelity.

• Like Like x 1
    3. PureNoise

PureNoise Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I read that you have to replace custom moulded earplugs every few years. That’s expensive.

• Like Like x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      MikeO123

MikeO123 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Yeah I think that's what I'll end up doing. I don't want to take any chances. From what I understand they take a little while to have made. Do you have any recommendations on earplugs I could use in the meantime? I've tried Mack's musician's ear plugs but they hurt my ears.

5. Markku
      Inspired

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Syringing
      3-5 years I think is the ballpark.

For example, ACS ones start from $185. There are other manufacturers too.