Breakthrough in Tinnitus Research Could Lead to Testable Model

Discussion in 'Research News' started by Whyat, Dec 18, 2015.

1. Whyat

Whyat Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2005
      • Like Like x 4
      • Creative Creative x 1
    2. Nick Pyzik
      Depressed

Nick Pyzik Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/23/15
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Listening to in-ear headphones & playing in a band
      I feel so bad for our brains having to go through all this trouble :(

• Like Like x 1
    3. Zimichael

Zimichael Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      (1956) > 1980 > 2006 > 2012 > (2015)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ac. Trauma & Ac.Trauma + Meds.
      YES... I wrote to him today. See the exchange below. Please do not 'bother' him with any requests not already covered here!!!

Incidentally, for those of you familiar with my past Thanos Tzounopoulos interactions you will notice the same theme here of: I am a research scientist, not a clinician.
      These guys do not want to get hassled or involved with all the "medical" aspects, or drugs question-answer stuff, etc. so please don't do it. THANKS!

Zimichael

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

REF. ~ DR. SALVI, UNIVERSITY OF BUFFALO 12/19/2015

Subject: Question on your work at UB re Tinnitus

Dear Dr. Salvi...

I was wondering if anything further has come to light with regard to this report from May of this year???

http://www.buffalo.edu/news/releases/2015/05/020.html

As someone who has suffered from tinnitus for many decades, and added hyperacusis (c/o aminoglycoside antibiotics, etc.) in 2006 and beyond, my life has been basically a long slow form of torture. And the research for a "cure" has been glacial, as you no doubt know.