Buzzing, Static + Ringing Tinnitus, Slight TMJ, Right Ear Crackles When I Yawn — Is This Somatic?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Demi Chadwick, Jun 3, 2022.

1. Demi Chadwick

Demi Chadwick Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Heya, I’m fairly new to tinnitus and since this sudden onset I’ve done all I can to understand tinnitus.

I’ve had my ears checked numerous times but my GP has told me they look fine and there’s nothing they can do which seems like what everyone else is told. I had an audiologist check my hearing and for my age my hearing is pretty good.

I understand this is still early days and since it started Apart from the first two weeks of tears, stress and anxiety... I’ve dealt with it pretty well and ensured that I can do all I can to avoid this situation getting worse.

Now initially my tinnitus started in my left ear, it was so loud I couldn’t hear anyone over it, I had to leave work and go home but the day after, though it was still there it settled quite a bit. After a week or so my tinnitus travelled to my right ear (bizarre I know) and I don’t hear it in my left at all unless I’m stressed but it almost feels like it’s in my fore head and neck just below my ear.

A few discoveries I’ve made is that when I get a spike /second sound which is like a low ring I can alter it by tilting my head. My ‘standard’ tinnitus is like a light buzzing/static and it’s not that bothersome at-all I can cope with it. But sometimes for no reason that second sound will come in and my ear almost feels muffled and clogged. It settles down after a while but I don’t know why it happens.

I also learnt that I have slight TMJ and recently my ear on the right side crackles when I yawn. I don’t know if this is all related and I don’t even know if my tinnitus could potentially be somatic?