Combat veteran and programmer, seeking relief.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by BrianH, Nov 2, 2013.

1. BrianH

BrianH Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2003
      Hello, everyone! My name is Brian. I am a combat veteran of the United States Army, and I've had tinnitus since my deployment to Iraq in 2003, during OIF. I am an IT student at Penn State University, and I do iOS App and Web development to help pay my bills. More info about me can be found at my website: NittanyGeek.com

My audiologist equipped me with ReSound Alera TS hearing aids, which I initially felt were working semi-well. My hearing improved, in that my tinnitus isn't quite as loud as it used to be, and I've had fewer "spikes" that would leave me temporarily unable to hear much of anything. I was scared for several years that I would completely loose my hearing. I didn't see a doctor about my hearing problems until almost 10 years after I began having problems. Although my hearing aids have somewhat improved my hearing over the past year, my hearing has recently been getting worse.

I've been searching the Internet for ways to self-treat my problem. I've paid for several cheap or free Apps from the iOS App Store, and have been scoping out other DIY methods as well. Because many of the programs I've found are out of my budget, I decided to start coding my own solutions based on existing treatments ... which is what lead me to this forum.