Dentist Says I'm a "Grinder" Hmm

Discussion in 'Support' started by Dave555, Jul 21, 2018.

1. Dave555
      Alienated

Dave555 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      7/9/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Power tools
      My dentist (ie hygienist) has said repeatedly that I grind my teeth and that I should have a mouth guard. Now that I have developed tinnitus, that's a done deal. Apparently I grind my teeth pretty bad so my jaw is hurting, probably have TMJ, which can't be good.

Beyond that, I had a thought. What is a "grinder"? Apparently it's someone like me who has stress and handles it the wrong way. I grind at problems both consciously and in my sleep. I'm new at this, and I might not have the worst case of tinnitus, but I wonder if changing my grinding behavior, both mentally and physically will help.

From now on, I'm not going to focus on any one problem too much. When I think about the tone, I'll be like OK... and think about how I might have cut off my thumb instead, using power tools. If I had cut off my thumb, would I spend all day staring at it? Similarly, I can't see the nose in front of my face, and that's actually a good thing.

I think that basically this new onset of tinnitus is forcing me to change my mental attitude. If I had not, things might have gotten worse in other areas of life. It's way too early for me to act like I know anything about this, but I just thought I'd post a thought. It's my first one in this discussion area. Good luck to everyone.

• Like Like x 2
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    2. Jazzer

Jazzer Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      1/1995
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Hi @Dave555

See if this little exercise helps....

How to cure stress.
      How to stop teeth grinding. (Bruxism.)

Bruxism results from stress held in the mouth.
      It is a fighting response to tension and anxiety.
      It feeds both of these aspects.