Emergency Physician with Spontaneous Otoacoustic Emissions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Stevek, Nov 19, 2013.

1. Stevek

Stevek Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2013
      Hi, I should introduce myself, I am an emergency physician practicing in australia, and have had tinnitus in my right ear since june this year. The tinnitus even stops me using my stethescope effectively!

I have had investigations (MRI, MRA, CT angiogram, and audiology tests) which are all normal. I went on to have otoacoustic emission testing, which showed a spike in my right ear at the same frequency (tone) as my tinnitus. My tinnitus is a beeping sound in my right ear, which is soft, but stops me sleeping.
      I am currently trying aspirin (900mg) at night, which initially worked, but seems to have stopped working.
      Does anyone else have any experience like this ?
      I am going for more otoacoustic testing in december (getting tested before, 30 mins, 60mins, 90 mins after taking aspirin).
      apparently quinine, and frusemide can also help this.
      I would be interested if anyone else has this type of tinnitus , and have had any luck with treatments.

2. yonkapin

yonkapin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2012
      How come you're using aspirin? Usually people avoid excess aspirin because it's considered ototoxic, thought it's important to note that tinnitus caused or exacerbated by aspirin is usually temporarily and stops on cessation of the drug, but still I would definitely avoid taking it every night at that dose.

Quinine and frusemide are also commonly put on ototoxic lists but I have no experience with these, but they get mentioned a lot. I would be very careful before you begin to experiment with these and double check wherever you're getting this information from.

edit: Okay, my bad - just googled these and there are quite a few studies on these drugs and otoacoustic emissions, interesting!

3. Jill Edmonds
      Artistic