Feeling Horrible. My Situation Is Pretty Unique. Please Help!

Discussion in 'Support' started by Gobi, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Gobi

Gobi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2014
      Hey Everyone,
      I feel like I'm going crazy, which I take it is pretty normal for the first months of developing T. I think to some degree I've had T for a while, but it was so mild I never noticed. Then all of a sudden last month, Aug 9th to be exact, I developed a high pitch whine that only hits me at night. I spent the first week with the high pitch whine turning off fans, unplugging refridgerators, etc.. Then I started doing some research and discovered that its most likely T. I have been using ear plugs to sleep for almost 18 years now, started in college. The sound of my own breathing and the quiet have always put me to sleep. Now when I put my ear plugs in my T all of a sudden goes into high gear, with a high pitched whine with a pulsated whine noise. I was able to handle it for a couple of weeks there, but since being back at work it bugs me and I can't sleep.

I'm struggling with the fact that I basically addicted to using ear plugs, but they make my T so much worse. I tried using a fan last night without the ear plugs and I had trouble breathing, I take it that was anxiety kicking in. Finally I just took a Xanax and went to bed with the ear plugs in. Heard my T loud and clear, but the meds kicked in and calmed me down so I slept alright. I'm really depressed about this, I've always been a good sleeper. I feel like if I can just stop using ear plugs then I'll get through this and my T won't bug me too much. But I just don't know how, anyone else been through something like this?