Friend's Spontaneous Tinnitus Recovery After a Couple of Years

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by shelbynn, Jan 31, 2021.

1. shelbynn
      Overworked

shelbynn Member

Tinnitus Since:
      T 11/20, D and H 1/21
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Idiopathic
      Hey all,

I'm new to tinnitus hell and these success stories are what's keeping me going to be honest. This is not my success story but it's one from my friend. I figured I'd share it here as it's also been keeping me going.

After I had tinnitus I reached out to friends and family for support. Turns out I know a lot of people in my life who have tinnitus! And they all seem to be living normally and happily. For some of them, it didn't start out that way though. One of my friends said she actually used to have tinnitus but doesn't anymore.

My friend got tinnitus the same age as me at 27 (she's 41 now) and she said it was gone by the time she was 30. She had to sleep every night with an Ativan and a white noise machine and the fan for about a year. She said over time it bothered her less and less and less and could only hear it in a quiet room. Even with her getting used to it, she said when she could hear it in a quiet room it still drove her nuts from time to time. I asked her when she noticed it was gone and if it had changed before disappearing. She doesn't know if it had ever changed or softened before it went away. She didn't do anything different or special.

She said one night she had to go to bed without all her noise machine stuff and laid down in the silence and heard exactly that, silence. She said it was just gone and has stayed gone. She is insane and does sound for her church. She's often standing in front or near loud ass speakers for hours at a time. Still no tinnitus.

• Like x 14
      • Hug x 2
      • Agree x 1
      • Funny x 1
      • Informative x 1
      • Optimistic x 1
    2. hans799
      Mellow

hans799 Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Born with it