Gave Myself Tinnitus with Hot Water from the Shower

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by BoiledStupid, Feb 12, 2023.

1. BoiledStupid

BoiledStupid Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Damage to the ear drum
      On January the 19th I managed to burn my own eardrum, with hot water from the shower.

How did I manage to do something so retarded you might ask. Well, I HAD a habit of using water from the shower to clean my ears from wax/dust/sweat by tilting my head and letting a single stream get into my ear canal. I have been doing this safely for over 15 years. 1000+ times at minimum.

BUT, 3 weeks ago I messed up.

I was having a nice shower like always, but I forgot my shampoo in the bedroom. I pop out of the bathroom to get it. I turn the shower back on and I start cleaning my ear right away. After about 40 seconds on my left ear I turn my head and I instantly became dizzy and off balance.

I stopped the shower but the damage had been done.

What had happened is in the time i was getting the shampoo from the bedroom, the hot water that was in the pipes cooled down a bit. So when I adjusted the water temperature, it was mild for about 20 seconds and spiked after that. When the water was hitting my skin I didn't realize it was that hot.

The tinnitus started immediately at a level of about 7/10 and I had pain in my skin for about 3 days. I wouldn't even classify it as 1st degree burn since the redness was almost invisible. More like being somewhat flushed.

Over the next week my tinnitus was in the 5-6/10 range. Then it dropped to about 4/10.

I decided to try anti-inflammatory drug called Colchicum. It's mainly used for the heart but has also been used in dermatology. It's entirely plant based so it's mild. However, it only made the tinnitus spike to about 7/10 for 2 days and then I stopped using it.